PEI’s Greg Proude used the high side of the high banks at Riverside International Speedway to hold off all challengers in the last 60 laps of the Modern Pumps & Metals 150, part of the ’23 season finale at the James River track.

It was an exciting exhibition of driving talent by all of the racers in the battle as they ran side by side lap after lap after lap, with as many as three cars under a blanket for the lead. A lap 120 competition caution (mandated by the East Coast International Pro Stock Tour) broke up a three car challenge between Proude, Jarrett Butcher, and Nicholas Naugle. The subsequent restart saw Proude jump to the point with Naugle in hot pursuit and Butcher falling farther back in the field. Austin MacDonald used a late race charge to close on the top two in the waning laps of the race.

Greg Proude accepts the winner’s trophy (Ken MacIsaac photo)

The three cars crossed the finish line nose to tail with Proude followed by Naugle and MacDonald. Butcher finished fourth and Chris Reid was fifth, who also collected the R&D Performance Centre Most Laps Award.

Jordan Veinotte and Naugle won their Atlantic Tiltload Heat Races. Proude won the Kenny U Pull Hard Charger Award. Gary Elliott was the Fast Eddie Racewear Lucky Dog.  Danny Chisholm was the rookie of the race.

Dennis Nickerson (Ken MacIsaac photo)

The Dulux Paint Street Stocks competed in the Whispering Winds Campground Twin 40 features prior to the main event. Dennis Nickerson had a stellar day, taking home the win in both features as well as the series inaugural championship.


  1. Dennis Nickerson
  2. Ken MacKenzie Jr.
  3. Logan Power
  4. Nick Cudmore
  5. Mike Duskey
  6. Riley Goodwin
  7. Martin Landry
Deven Smith (Ken MacIsaac photo)

The Maritime Allstar Sportsman Series were also on hand for round five of seven in its ’23 season. Devin Smith, Dylan Dowe, and Cory Leonard were the top three finishers, respectively, in the NAPA/Henry’s AUTOPRO 100.

NAPA/ Henry’s AUTOPRO 100 (unofficial results)

  1. Deven Smith
  2. Dylan Dowe
  3. Cory Leonard
  4. Marcel Leblanc
  5. Tony Leonard
  6. Joey Livingstone
  7. Kevin Morse
  8. Steve MacPhee
  9. Shawn Waterfield
  10. Darren Hilchie
  11. Corey Breen
  12. Ronnie MacKay
  13. Dennis Nickerson
  14. Jeffrey Breen
  15. Pete Miller

The Back to School Spectacular was a great success with hundreds of kids 17 and under admitted free to enjoy the racing as well as making lifelong memories by riding in a race car during kiddies rides, having photos taken in a Bandolero race car and with track mascot – Bandit (the beaver) – as well as taking home numerous door prizes.

This concludes the ’23 season at Riverside; many thanks to all who helped make this year the great success it has been – our fans, racers, service providers and amazing staff – we couldn’t do it without any of you.

Management now turns their focus towards 2024 and hope to start making event date announcements in the very near future. Event suggestions are always welcome feedback and can be forwarded to us by email (